A New Chapter

After an amazing 4 years living and working in London, my fiancé and I have moved back home to New Zealand. I learned an incredible amount as a contractor working on enterprise software development. I love software development, but I never felt fulfilled developing software for the enterprise. In my spare time I would work on my own projects, but always wished I had more time to devote to my product ideas.

So after a lot of consideration, I’ve taken the plunge and started an app development company with a good friend of mine. We will be focused mainly on creating iOS apps for the iPhone and iPad. Developing for this platform is something I truly enjoy doing and the App Store is a great place to find customers who are willing to pay for quality apps.

Last year we created and launched our first iPhone app in the App Store. We both loved the process of creating and launching a product to paying customers and improving it based on the feedback we received.

Our goal is not to grow a business with dozens of employees and large monthly overheads (I would hate that), but to simply earn enough revenue to make a decent living and have the freedom to work from where we want, for customers we care about, on products we are passionate about.

"Build a life around what you’re really talented at and you’ll be many times more successful than if you base your work on what you’re ok at." – John Williams.

I’m spending time at the moment learning about product development and researching several product ideas. I am very wary of wasting time and money creating a product that no one wants, so I’m researching ideas thoroughly before thinking about design or writing a single line of code. I will discuss this process further in my next post.

Am I worried about the uncertainty of starting a business? Of course I am – I still have bills to pay and setting up a flat in Auckland is not cheap. I know sometimes it’s going to get hard and I’m going to need passion and motivation to stick in there. But I know deep down that this is what I want to do and now is the time to do it.

Life’s too short not to enjoy what you do every day. Make 2011 the year you get paid for doing what you love. If you’re interested in taking the plunge, I highly recommend reading Screw Work, Let’s Play: How to Do What You Love and Get Paid for it by John Williams.

5 Responses to “A New Chapter”


  1. 1 Jef Claes January 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

    You have balls sir. Good luck! Keep us updated :)

  2. 2 dermot January 18, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Hey Tim, Good luck with the new venture, remember to look back on this post when times may be a bit low, in order to focus on the goal. Enjoy.

  3. 3 Rob Ray February 20, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    Tim,

    Sounds good. You may need to think beyond i*. Good luck and let me know if I can help.

    Rob

  4. 4 timross February 21, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Thanks Rob, I agree we need to think beyond only iOS development and we are now also doing some web app development. We may explore other mobile platforms, but that should keep us busy enough for now :-)

  5. 5 Tana February 23, 2011 at 12:06 am

    Good stuff bro, you’re taking a step that I’ve been thinking about for quite a while now. Hope it all turns out well!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

